Lizzie Armitstead Wins Again at Trofeo Alfredo Binda - Total Women's Cycling

Latest news, reviews and features for women who like to ride.



Lizzie Armitstead Wins Again at Trofeo Alfredo Binda

After pulling out of last week's race, Lizzie Armitstead was back on form today

Lizzie Armitstead won the third round of the UCI Women’s World Tour (WWT) today. The victory was the third in the last four races she’s ridden and her second WWT first place. 

It’s also marks a hat trick for Boels-Dolmans in the WWT, after Chantal Blaak took a proud position on the top step at Ronde van Drenthe last weekend. 

The UCI World Champion Armitstead finished one second ahead of teammate Megan Guarnier at Trofeo Binda in Italy today, with Servetoo Footon rider Jolanda Neff a further four seconds back.

The 123km race consisted of one long lap of 49km, before 4 short laps just under 20km. Though there were some earlier attacks, it wasn’t until the third short lap when eight riders made a decisive move.

The eight was made up of Armitstead, Guarnier, Emma Johansson (Wiggle High5), World Tour leader Anna van der Breggen (Rabo Liv), Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Rabo Liv), Alena Amialiusik (Canyon SRAM), Annemiek Van Vleuten (Orica AIS), and Neff.

With just 20km to go, the group had a minute on the bunch. This did decrease to 40 seconds, before Neff attacked on the final climb. She valiantly created her own gap of a further 40 seconds, and it wasn’t until there was 4km to go that Armitstead made her move and closed down on the Swiss rider.

Armitstead crossed the line first, just one second ahead of her team mate and USA National Champ Guarnier.

Lizzie Armitstead still in the main pack in the first, short lap. Image: Velofocus
Megan Guarnier sprints against Jolanda Neff for the second place
Megan Guarnier, Lizzie Armitstead (both Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team) and Jolanda Neff (Servetto-Footon) celebrate on the podium Image: Velofocus

Top ten…

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 3:11:10
2 Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:00:01
3 Jolanda Neff (Swi) Servetto Footon 0:00:04
4 Emma Johansson (Swe) Wiggle High5
5 Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Canyon-SRAM
6 Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
7 Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 0:00:11
8 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Orica-AIS 0:00:39
9 Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Hitec Products 0:01:06
10 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle High5


Want to know more about the Women’s World Tour, and what’s next? Check out the calendar here. 


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.