The Sunday Times & Sky Sports 2013 Sportswomen of the Year shortlists announced

On December 5th athletes, coaches, broadcasters, commentators, fans and more will gather together in the studio of Sky Sports to celebrate the awe-inspiring achievements of British women in sport over this past year, as the awards ceremony for the Sunday Times & Sky Sports Sportswomen of Year Award takes place.

Nominations for the different categories have been gathered over the last few weeks, and the shortlists have now been announced. We’re excited to see cycling represented in three of those categories.

Nicole Cooke (2008) and Victoria Pendleton (2007) are the only cyclists to have won the main award, Sports Woman of the Year, since the awards began in 1998. This year, Becky James has made the shortlist not only for Young Sports Woman of the Year, but also for the prestigious main award.

Becky James has had an astounding year, becoming the first Briton to win 4 medals at a World Championships. At the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Belarus, she placed Bronze for the 500m Time Trial event, Bronze for the Team Sprint, Gold for the Keirin and Gold for the Sprint, making her a double World Champion.

Double World Champion Becky James

Also shortlisted are Team GB’s Team Pursuit Cycling Squad, made up of the renowned Laura Trott, Dani King and Elinor Barker. The team sped to victory in the 2013 UCI Track Cycling World Championships, winning the gold.

Although the majority of the winners will be selected by a specialist panel, the general public have the chance to select the winner of the Team of the Year award. Voting is now open on the The Sunday Times website and you can vote until midnight on the 25th November 2013 so get in there and make your mark!

Interested in the outcome? Of course you are! The Awards Ceremony itself will be broadcast live on Sky on the 5th December, so tune in a show your support.

Scroll down to see the full list of shortlisted entrants for each award.

The Sunday Times & Sky Sports Sportswoman of the Year

  • Charlotte Dujardin
  • Heather Knight
  • Becky James
  • Christine Ohuruogu
  • Shelley Rudman
  • Non Stanford

Young Sportswoman of the Year (21 years or younger)

  • Dina Asher-Smith
  • Charley Hull
  • Becky James
  • Katarina Johnson-Thompson

Disability Sports Person of the Year

  • Hannah Cockroft
  • Sophie Hahn
  • Amy Marren
  • Eleanor Simmonds

Community Award

  • Rimla Akhtar
  • Karen Edwards
  • Brenda Prescott
  • Ros Spearing

Lifetime Achievement and Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration

  • Winners will be announced on the evening

Team of the Year

  • England Cricket Team
  • England Netball Team
  • Europe’s Solheim Cup Team
  • GB’s Team Pursuit Cycling Squad



Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.