Nominations open for 2013 Sunday Times and Sky Sports Sportswomen of the Year Awards - Total Women's Cycling

Latest news, reviews and features for women who like to ride.



Nominations open for 2013 Sunday Times and Sky Sports Sportswomen of the Year Awards

Last month, The Sunday Times and Sky Sports launched the Sportswomen of the Year 2013 Awards, opening online nominations. You now have the opportunity to nominate your favourite sportswomen of the past nine months.

Now in their 26th year, the Awards celebrate the outstanding contribution to sport made by elite performers, coaches, administrators, community volunteers and inspirational female figures. For the first time in its history, the Awards will be broadcast live on Sky Sports.

Since the awards begun in 1988, there have only been two cyclists to have won of the main award, the coveted Sportswoman of the Year accolade; Nicole Cooke (2008) and Victoria Pendleton (2007).

Nicole Cooke another cyclist to win SWOTY

Last year’s awards however, did celebrate Great Britain’s female cyclists, with Paralympian of the Year awarded to Sarah Storey, and Team pursuit cyclists deservedly scooping Team of the Year after epic results at the Olympics and Paralympics.

As a cycling website, we may be a smidge biased but let’s see if we can up the awards for our countries greatest female cyclists and back the likes of Joanna Rowsell, Laura Trott, and Rachel Atherton.

Previous winners of Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year awards

  • 2012 Jessica Ennis
  • 2011 Sarah Stevenson
  • 2010 Maggie Alphonsi
  • 2009 Chrissie Wellington
  • 2008 Nicole Cooke
  • 2007 Victoria Pendleton


The online nomination process is now open and will close at midnight on Monday November 4, 2013. This year there are 7 awards up for grabs, all noted below.

The 7 award categories for 2013 are;

  • The Sunday Times & Sky Sports Sportswoman of the Year
  • Young Sportswoman of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Disability Sports Person of the Year
  • Community Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration

When you are nominating online, don’t worry if you can’t fill in all of the fields, you can simply pop in n/a where appropriate. So if you only want to back someone to win the main award, enter n/a in the other 6 fields.


Anyone who nominates is in with a chance of winning a pair of tickets to attend the Awards show at Sky Sports’ studios on 5 December.

‘Sportswomen’ on Sky Sports News

On Sky Sports News at 10.30am every Tuesday, a special ‘Sportswomen’ programme will cover the latest news, views, analysis and feature interviews with athletes and respected figures from the world of sport. The programme, which complements Sky Sports’ unrivalled year-round coverage of women in sports, will be repeated on Sky Sports 1 at 6.30pm each Tuesday and will also be available via Sky’s On Demand service.

Care to share? Let us know who you’re nominating to win the 2013 SWOTY in the comments section below.


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.