Following on from the sporting achievements of 2012, the last year has seen not only incredible performances from British sports women on both the national and international stage, but also long-awaited increased recognition and media coverage.

BT Sport, which launched in August 2013, has opened voting for the 2013 BT ActionWoman of the Year. 10 sports women have been nominated, including swimmer Ellie Simmonds and footballer Natasha Dowie

We’re particularly excited to see that Rachel Atherton, the 2013 MTB Downhill British National Champion and World Champion, has made the shortlist – and rightly so.

Rachel Atherton adds another well deserved trophy to what must be a rather full cabinet! Copyright Phil Hall

Atherton has dominated the 2013 World Cup season, starting the year strong with a long-awaited win in Fort William, regularly taking the top spot on the podium with decisive margins, and gaining overall victory of the season.

Downhill MTB is a sport that requires immense physical and mental prowess, skill, courage and determination, and Atherton clearly displays these attributes.

The winner of the BT ActionWoman of the Year award will be selected by a public vote, and voting is now open. Visit the BT ActionWoman website to find out more about the nominees, and make your selection!

The full list of nominees:

  • Ellie Simmonds (Swimming)
  • Charley Hull (Golf)
  • Christine Ohuruogu (Sprint)
  • Heather Knight (Cricket)
  • Katie Summerhayes (Freestyle skiing)
  • Laura Robson (Tennis)
  • Natasha Dowie (Football)
  • Non Stanford (Triathlon)
  • Rachel Atherton (DH MTB)
  • Sophie Christiansen (Dressage)

Want to find out the results?

The winner will be announced on a special edition of The Clare Balding Show on BT Sport 1 on Saturday January 25th at 9pm. Get voting, then tune in.